Please Help Me Set-Up for Two "Businesses" and Future-proof (as much as possible)

I am getting ready to make the switch to ActiveCampaign. So far, my email service provider experience of late is limited to a 3-month ConvertKit trial. I’m still new to all this and am trying to wrap my head around how it all works.

My wife and I have two distinct “ventures” we want to use email marketing for (our homeschool coaching service and our writing). One of the big reasons I am switching is because I’ve been told I can use one AC account to manage both of our projects, while ConvertKit requires separate accounts for each.

I am trying to plan ahead in order to avoid complications down the line.

1. I’d like to keep my Homeschooling subscribers separate from my Writing subscribers. What’s the best way to accomplish this? A list for each? Something else?

2. I’d also like to keep open the possibility of subscribers unsubscribing from sub-“lists” without unsubscribing from the entire list–if that makes sense. Right now, we are not that complex and will only have one “list” for each venture, but I can see us creating course or product specific “lists” within the Master List in the future, and I want people to be able to manage their subscription at a more granular level.

Assuming this is possible, what’s the best way to do this?

1. Finally, if you think you understand what I’m getting at here, please feel free to share anything I might want to keep in mind going forward related to all of this. :slight_smile:

I’m guessing this will all come down to the use of lists, tags, and other such things. Hoping someone can give me the specifics. Thanks for your time. Sorry to ramble.

Dan

1 Like

Hi Dan (@goodschooling),

First of all welcome to ActiveCampaign!